Quilting? Really?

For the last year or so, ever since I had my nine pound baby, I’ve been having pain in my wrists that makes knitting less fun. I’ve been looking for a new way to feed my fiber / color addiction. Happy to report, I found my new addiction: quilting.

“Quilting, really?” Is usually the first response. The second response is: “Really?” Yes, really! Now before you start thinking I’m going all Sunday School Craft Mama just consider: quilting involves color (lots, and lots of really great color), pattern (so many pattern combinations the mind boggles), and natural fiber. Why didn’t I think of it sooner?

It all clicked for me while visiting an old friend, whose wife happens to have made some lovely modern quilts – I must emphasize it was this modern angel that really intrigued me. It really didn’t take more than a casual visit to my favorite little knit/sew boutique, the Fancy Tiger in Denver, to catch the fever. I bought $9 charm packs of two fabulous fabric collections (Moda’s Wee Woodland and Fandango) and I was on my way.

I did a little research and in no time I was taking a class on the “Disappearing Nine” patch at Hip Stitch in Albuquerque. Mind you, I hadn’t sat down at a sewing machine since high school. But if I could knit a lovely little hat without a pattern after not knitting for twenty years, I figured I could sew some straight lines too.

Here it is, my first quilt top! The size (48″ x 60″) is perhaps best described as a lap quilt, but I think it’s really ideal for my toddler: bigger than a crib quilt but not as big as a twin. The fabric is from the Wee Woodland collection by Moda Fabrics.

2 thoughts on “Quilting? Really?

  1. Beautiful quilt! I have been fantasizing about making my baby a little quilt. I think learning to knit would take too long, but I don’t have a sewing machine, and have fairly marginal skills with a needle. But I may try something basic.

    Glad you found something you enjoy. And the fruits of your labor are gorgeus.

  2. Pingback: Time to Quilt the Quilt-tops « Fiber Dreams: Nocturnal Journeys of a Fiber Arts J

Leave a Reply

